Thrones Sunday: Honeyed Chicken

20130513-205650.jpg
I am well aware that I missed a week or two… Things were far too busy and I wasn’t very motivated. So, long over due, but here is my review of the latest A Feast of Ice and Fire dish, Honeyed Chicken.

The recipe calls for a whole bird, but I had spilt breasts in the freezer, so that is what I used. I think any chicken on the bone will be just fine. I really like the idea of this dish, but it didn’t quite work for me. I thought the vinegar was a bit too strong, and I wanted the sauce to be more like a glaze. My disappointment may be entirely to my own error, so I will give the technique another try. I used raisins, but would love to mix it up with currants, cranberries and other dried fruit next time.

The house smelled amazing, anyway!

What have you thought about the last few episodes? I have to say, I am loving Ygritte’s character so much more in the show. I didn’t like her much in the books, but her playfulness comes through and you can’t help but love her.

I just promised my husband two Thrones recipes next week to make up for what I missed. Stay tuned!

Leave a Reply

