Game of Thrones Sunday

20130407-205425.jpg
It is Thrones Sunday and that means I tried another recipe from A Feast of Ice and Fire. Tonight we had 17th Century Baked Apples and Mulled Wine.

Baked Apples: For such a simple dish, these were very good. I was tempted to make an oat crumble as topping, but decided to stay true to the recipe. For me, they needed some vanilla ice cream, but I think anyone would find them very good alone. The recipe has you put a bit of water in the baking dish. When the apples were cook, I pour the sugary cinnamon water into a sauce pan and reduced it down. Pour that stuff over some ice cream!

Mulled Wine: I will be honest, I kinda winged it on this one. I had half a bottle of cheap red wine, and I added a little of this, a little of that. Cinnamon, nutmeg, ginger, orange juice, sugar, cloves, orange slices… I added it all and tasted as I went. I do like it. It simmered for about 30 minutes and let it cool. I perhaps went a little heavy with the orange slices, as it has a little bitterness to it. Also, I prefer to drink this lukewarm rather than pipping hot. If I ever make this for a crowd, I will be sure to follow the recipe to a T!

Leave a Reply

