The Colette Bed

I bought some furniture and art for our bedroom last year, but I kinda knew it was a temporary fix because the room really needs new carpet and paint (and that wasn’t in the budget at the time).

Looking at it now, I should have invested in pieces that coordinated with the style of our home better. I went super feminine, while our other spaces are blend of modern and traditional. So, now I am thinking… We can paint and get carpet this summer. We also need a new bed. I bought a vintage bed and repainted it, but I wasn’t super happy with how it came out.

That brings me to the Colette bed from Crate and Barrel. Ah, a thing of beauty. I have drooled over it since seeing the bed featured on The Elements of Style. Pricey, yes. But all the reviews I have read say it is worth every penny.

20130407-094004.jpg

I started the conversation with my husband by asking if he could make me a headboard. He said “probably” and then I laid the Colette bed on him.

He asked to see it, and as I rambled on trying to justify the cost, he said “we should really invest in pieces we love that will last.”

Uh huh.

I knew there was a reason I married this guy.

Leave a Reply

