A Game of Thrones Feast

20130331-192227.jpg

We are big Game of Thrones nerds in our house. We didn’t get into it until the HBO series, but my husband is now on his third read though of the entire five books and I am working on my second (by point of view characters this time). The food lover that I am, I had to get the book, A Feast of Ice and Fire. And since tonight is the season three premiere, it was the perfect time to have a Thrones feast at home.

The book itself is beautiful. It has amazing photos, and what I love most are the quotes from the novels that precede each recipe in the cookbook. The book is organized by region (The North, King’s Landing, etc.) and includes an introduction from George R. R. Martin, the author of the series.

I made three recipes from the book today: modern beef and bacon pie, corn fritters and lemon cakes. Overall I am really pleased and plan to continue to try a new dish every Thrones Sunday for the rest of the season.

Beef and Bacon Pie: O.M.G. It is like beef stew in pie form. It is amazing. A-ma-zing. Potatoes, carrots, onion and beef all come together to make a lovely thick filling for a buttery crust topped with salty bacon. Health food this is not, but damn it is good. (Note: I was too cheap to buy the $10 bottle (on sale from $15) of saffron for the crust, and it came out fine. Maybe I am missing some epic flavor combination, so let me know if you think it is a must!)

Corn Fritters: These were easy enough to make, but didn’t quite have the flavor I was expecting. I think if I do them again, I will add a bit of sugar and salt to the batter. They are probably 10 times better when corn is in season and fresh from the cob. I used frozen corn, and it just didn’t have that yummy cornbread flavor I was hoping for.

Lemon Cakes: These were one of the first food items I heard others talk about in context of the book. The are referenced quite frequently in the series and were served on the food truck to promote the series in New York. I made the Elizabethan lemon cakes, as the petit fours looked like too much work to me. I was worried the zest of two lemons would be over powering, but it wasn’t. The cookies / cakes have just the right amount of lemon and sweetness. I didn’t even bother with the icing, as I thought the sweet level was just perfect as is. I am intrigued that the recipe is based on one from the year 1690, and contains only flour, butter, eggs, sugar and lemon. Very simple and delicious. I think I have eaten 10 today. No joke.

If you are a thrones fan and considering getting this book, I hope you do! I will share my recipe reviews each week as we watch the show. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

