Salt of the Earth

Salt of the Earth in Fennville, Mich was on my bucket list of places to eat. Let me start by saying my meal was outstanding. I had the BBQ chicken with cheddar polenta, and it was really, really good. That said, my overall experience at SOTE was not what I hoped for.

So it went like this: a major thunderstorm rolled through the area, apparently knocking out power to much of Fennville. This caused the restaurant to open several hours late. Of course, I didn’t know this, and spent a couple hours sitting on a bench in the tiny downtown (the three shops there were closed). My mom and I decided to try to kill some time at Fenn Valley, but we arrived 10 minutes prior to closing. We quickly bought a few bottles, no tasting on this trip.

When the restaurant opened, they were overwhelmed with seating a load of diners all at once. We were give a “fresh” menu only to have it taken back later. I did notice other tables were given the fresh menus, so I am not sure why ours was taken back. Then, our server missed our drink order. They were out of several menu items – including the farmers’ greens, although somehow they magically appeared on our table 15 minutes later.

Leave it to an act of god to completely ruin my bucket list dining experience.

But this is where it takes a turn for the better. The food started coming and it was wonderful. Everyone raved about the bread, but frankly, it wasn’t so special day old.

I was so flustered during my time at SOTE that I didn’t take any photos of my dish, but I truly enjoyed it. So while I nearly banged my head on the table and wanted to cry (sad, but true) I can say that the food was amazing. I’d love to go back and give it another try. Luckily, it is only an hour and a half away and I know that I’ll get there again.

Leave a Reply

