Knitting frustration

I learned to knit about two months ago. I’m practicing a baby hat for my cousin’s baby girl due in June. I’m totally a newb, so don’t make fun of my poor skills. Every dang hat I make comes out like this! (this is number four, but my first baby-sized attempt). When I knit 2 together on the decrease, it’s very apparent. There are bumps, and on the models I’ve seen, there are no decrease bumps. I’ve googled it, but I’m not even sure what to call it.

my first finished baby hat


detail on the annoying bumps - how do I fix this?

Gah! And I know it’s probably not the best idea, but I generally consider patterns more of a guide. I loosely follow them, but either way, I don’t think that has any influence over the bump issue.

Any knitters out there care to bestow their wisdom upon me?

2 thoughts on “Knitting frustration

  1. Bronwyn

    I’m by no means a knitting expert, but there are two things I do th make this not happen.
    1) I tug a bit on a K2Tog decrease to “force” it to a uniform size
    2) I do my decreases in a counted sequence so that the “bumps” create a sort of seam or design feature, rather than randomly.

    Those are just two ideas that may help in the future. Also, just remember that YOU see the bumps because you have been staring at the hat for awhile. All the recipient sees is a totally cute hat from someone they love!

    Here are some other patterns to check and try! http://www.knittingpatterncentral.com/directory/baby_hats.php

    Have fun!

Leave a Reply

